SWRB Board

Shannon Pakura (SWRB chair)

Ko Aotea te waka
Ko Ruapehu te māunga
Ko Whanganui te awa
Ko Te Atihaunui-a-Paparangi te iwi
Ko Ngā Paerangi te hapu
Ko Kaiwhaiki te marae
Ko Shannon Pakura ahau

Shannon Pakura was previously the President of Aotearoa (NZ) Association of Social Workers. Over the years, she has actively lobbied for mandatory registration of social workers in New Zealand. Shannon was the first social worker to be registered in Aotearoa/New Zealand. She has worked extensively in both the Statutory Child Protection and the Youth Justice social work sector.  She was the former Chief Social Worker for the Department of Child, Youth and Family.  Currently, Shannon serves as the Chair of the Social Workers Registration board, is a non-judicial member of the NZ Parole Board and is the Māori Service Development Manager for Barnardos.

Andrea Nichols

Andrea is a registered social worker with over 25 years of experience working with children, young people and their whānau within both NGO and statutory settings. Until recently she worked in the Office of the Chief Social Worker where she led professional social work practice at a national level. She is currently Director, Safety of Children in Care at Oranga Tamariki, a unit that is responsible for reviewing and reporting on harm caused to children in care.  Andrea has a strong interest in supervision and professional development for social workers.

Rose Henderson

Rose has a long history in the social work profession.  She began as a social worker in Invercargill in the late 1970s and found time, amidst a busy family life, to establish and co-ordinate the Invercargill Women’s refuge. Rose then made the shift north to Christchurch and into the mental health area, becoming a Director of Allied Health.  Rose was also a former President of the ANZASW, from 2003 to 2009, and is currently the President of the Asia-Pacific region of the International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW). She has a depth of knowledge in employer relations and experience of representing social workers at a national and international level. 

Shirley Ikkala

Shirley is of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei and Cook Island descent. She is a registered social worker with more than 20 years’ experience working mostly in the government sector. She is a professional Teaching Fellow in the Department of Counselling, Human Services and Social Work at the University of Auckland. Shirley has a keen interest in the need for accountability and responsibility in the social work sector.

Khoa Nguyen

Khoa is a Vietnamese New Zealander. He is a certified Chartered Accountant and Managing Director of Viet River Holdings Ltd, a niche consultancy company providing executive lease, governance and commercial connections to the ASEAN market. He has held various directorships and is an avid volunteer. He is currently a member of the New Zealand Lottery Grants Board and Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust.

Paula Rose

Paula has a wide range of experience across the policing, welfare, community and media standards sectors.  She is a former National Manager Road Policing, NZ Police and was involved in implementing MSD’s action plan for vulnerable children.  She sits on the boards of WorkSafe NZ, Brackenridge, and the Broadcasting Standards Authority, is a Commissioner on the Transport Accident Investigation Commission, a member of the Parole Board, and on the South Island Trust Board for St John. In 2013 she was awarded a QSO for her contribution to policing and the community.

Scott Thomson

Scott is a physiotherapist from Christchurch and co-owns the Merivale Hand Clinic. He is a past Chair of the New Zealand Private Physiotherapy Association and the International Private Physical Therapist Association. He has been closely involved with the development of physiotherapy standards through the New Zealand Physiotherapy Accreditation Scheme and as a member of the Standards New Zealand Technical Committee developing the Allied Health Services Sector Standards. Scott is currently a member of the Physiotherapy Board of New Zealand.